Resolutions

Happy new year!

I’m a fan of new year’s resolutions and am generally good at keeping them. Of course, they need to be realistic and manageable so that I that I won’t find myself falling off come January 15. (LOL at exercise everyday!)

So three years ago, I swore of wearing jeans so I could look more mature, especially at work. It’s been tough juggling between chinos and shorts with no jeans to wear for those not-too-formal-yet-not-too-casual occasions. But I’ve kept at it.

Two years ago, after seeing my pile of barely worn footwear, I swore of buying new shoes altogether. (Hello Jordans!)

Then last year, I expanded the no shoe purchases to no clothing purchases. There were indeed tough moments, but I’ve soldiered on.

For 2023, I’ve decided on these fairly doable tasks.

  • No carbonated drinks (except soda water)
  • No ice cream
  • Bike more (as a Sunday biker, I’d put my target at a manageable 500km for the year)
  • Read again. (2021 and 2022 were good reading years; 2023, not so much)

2022 was super tough, but I got things done, and for that I’m grateful. And things are looking up for 2023, where it should hopefully be a year to sow the rewards.

Leave a comment